Happy International Women’s Day

In honor of International Women’s Day and because I need the boost, here are some of my favorite ladies (fictional and non) in no particular order.

Sarah Connor (Terminator 2)

oorw9

Definitely more of a central character in the sequel and TWICE as strong, Sarah Connor is one of my favorite female characters of all time. This scene actually makes me well up with pride. She’s practically dead and resurrects herself to blow the T-1000 all to hell.

Morticia Addams

tumblr_n32j3nvxpd1s1v3r1o1_400

“I’m just like any modern woman trying to have it all. Loving husband, a family. It’s just, I wish I had more time to seek out the dark forces and join their hellish crusade.”

Need I say more?

Wednesday Addams

tumblr_n6nfphcbrr1saf4b9o3_500

You can always count on her to tell it like it is.

Darlene Conner

tumblr_m2rliigham1r0ufaco1_400

She had some of the best lines in the show. Sardonic, smart and quick as a whip, she definitely took after her mom.

Roseanne

anigif_original-grid-image-12209-1373494366-8

Oh gawd, I don’t know if I can think of anyone funnier. She’s one of my idols. Anyone who says “women aren’t funny” hasn’t seen Roseanne.

Amy Poehler

635870277287814904-1630417540_amy20poehler20quotes

Another funny lady who’s strong as hell.

Rebecca Gomperts

qy52yuhtxjvsievaselp

Pioneering doctor who circumvented anti-abortion laws by providing services to women in international waters. Along with her invaluable crew, she sailed to countries where the restrictions were so tight that women were resorting to desperate means of obtaining abortions. More about her and how to obtain safe abortions at http://www.womenonwaves.org.

Frida Kahlo

frida-kahlo-2

I love everything about her: her honesty, her artistry, her spirit. Definitely one-of-a-kind and an inspiration to women everywhere.

Trina Schart Hyman

trina-schart-hymantumblr_my4z92f8zn1skmd52o3_400

Her enchanting illustrations captivated me from the time I was small and still influence me creatively today.

There are so many more! Please share some of the important women in your life in the comments.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Happy International Women’s Day

      1. Yeah I love her in The Fall. I’ve only seen season one but several times I had to SQUEEEE because she’s so awesome. Gillian Anderson is my celebrity crush. ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

