PTSD: “The Stalker in the Dark”

Since my birthday, last year

there’s been someone stalking me

in the shadows.

I can’t see her face or what she’s wearing.

She’s sort of a shadow.

And she blends in to all the dark places.

I can hear her footsteps when I’m walking,

always close, never far.

She whispers to me.

“Watch out,” she says. “Be careful.”

“Remember what happened last time?”

As she flashes pictures and movie clips before my eyes.

Not a lot.

Just enough

to keep me scared…

6 thoughts on “PTSD: “The Stalker in the Dark”

  1. Wow! What a powerful and evocative poem. Thank you so much for sharing it. It really captures that feeling of always having to be on watch – hyper watch – because the bad thing is just lurking behind a corner. Well spoken!

    Like

Leave a Reply

